Nevereal Games

Game Maker Studio migration help

Game Maker Studio migration help

Report Topic
red3dred #1
  16 May 2015 - 18:31
User posted content

red3dredDeveloper Site

Nevereal Member
Group: User
Posts: 369
Joined: 13 Sep 2012
Hello guys, i'm here to ask a little help with Game Maker Studio (If anyone here uses it,) I've been attempting to port my GM7/GM8 projects to Studio, but with no success, as most projects come up with previously working code as no longer functional. I know for a fact the D'n'D functions work perfectly, but other than that, i can't seem to write any proper code.

I'll start by saying, i had the line:
Code:
image_index = global.directionVar
And, it simply no longer works at all. "image_index" no longer seems to be available, "global." or "other." no longer work, and any var name seems to just error out.

I'm sorry if these are simple/basic code lines, but the migrations left me confused, did GML change a lot when it was moved to Studio or will i have to re-learn how to use it all over?
redsignature.gif
0
HighQuality #2
  18 May 2015 - 22:06
User posted content

HighQualityDeveloper Site

Quality over Quantity
Group: Founder
Posts: 222
Joined: 03 Aug 2012
image_index and the behavior of global/other definitively haven't changed. Most changes studio brought was removal of things that didn't produce multi-platform/natively compilable code, such as execute_shell, execute_program, execute_string, variable-related functions that takes strings as identifiers and so on.
What are the specific errors you're getting from that line?
Founder - Wuka World Main Developer - Website Programming Assistant
0
Aidiakapi #3
  19 May 2015 - 18:00
User posted content

AidiakapiDeveloper Site

Nevereal Someone
Group: User
Posts: 853
Joined: 21 Aug 2012
It's probably an error in (one of) the line(s) before that. I don't know if GM:S has done anything to make GML's syntax stricter, but I doubt they've changed too much about it.
Finally a new signature.
0
red3dred #4
  21 May 2015 - 00:59
User posted content

red3dredDeveloper Site

Nevereal Member
Group: User
Posts: 369
Joined: 13 Sep 2012
HighQuality wrote:
image_index and the behavior of global/other definitively haven't changed. Most changes studio brought was removal of things that didn't produce multi-platform/natively compilable code, such as execute_shell, execute_program, execute_string, variable-related functions that takes strings as identifiers and so on.
What are the specific errors you're getting from that line?

Basically, anything with a "name" (global. - other. - obj_portal.) doesn't work. Variables and variable references alike. And also, image_index by itself made the game unable to be compiled as it kept generating a error. I'm not sure of the specifics of these errors, but i guess that i should just take my time and delve into the help files and youtube tutorials again.
Aidiakapi wrote:
It's probably an error in (one of) the line(s) before that. I don't know if GM:S has done anything to make GML's syntax stricter, but I doubt they've changed too much about it.

Y'know, those were the only lines actually... all the rest was DnD and that works. However anything that had a variable as a input didn't work. (Jump to "obj_portal1a.x,obj_portal1a.y" for example).
redsignature.gif
0
Aidiakapi #5
  22 May 2015 - 08:45
User posted content

AidiakapiDeveloper Site

Nevereal Someone
Group: User
Posts: 853
Joined: 21 Aug 2012
If it doesn't compile it should give a compile error. We might be able to help you if you share it.

I haven't done a lot with GM:S but I know most things in GML stayed the same.
Finally a new signature.
0
red3dred #6
  23 May 2015 - 01:18
User posted content

red3dredDeveloper Site

Nevereal Member
Group: User
Posts: 369
Joined: 13 Sep 2012
Aidiakapi wrote:
If it doesn't compile it should give a compile error. We might be able to help you if you share it.

I haven't done a lot with GM:S but I know most things in GML stayed the same.

I'll try to replicate the problem by re-importing the same game, probably will generate new errors, idk... Studio is an odd software. I can't even maximize the window, so I really don't get a stable feel from it. Anyway... Editing this later with the error log.
Code:
In Object obj_Red, in Event StepNormalEvent action number 1 at line 3 : Symbol , or ) expected
In Object obj_Red, in Event StepNormalEvent action number 1 at line 3 : Symbol ) expected
In Object obj_Red, in Event StepNormalEvent action number 1 at line 3 : symbol } expected
In Object obj_Red, in Event StepNormalEvent action number 1 at line 3 : malformed assignment statement
Compile Failed - Please check the Compile window for any additional information

(Just a note, this error references to this line)
Code:
image_index = global.directionvar;
Post last edited by red3dred: 23 May 2015 - 01:34
redsignature.gif
0
red3dred #7
  27 May 2015 - 23:56
User posted content

red3dredDeveloper Site

Nevereal Member
Group: User
Posts: 369
Joined: 13 Sep 2012
So huh.... I've been taking a few seconds to check into GM:S and what is wrong with it...

It appears I'm missing both the Windows SDK and Visual SDK, along with the Steam SDK... (Dunno why it wouldn't come with these along but...)
So maybe the commands i'm using aren't available because of that, but i can't be sure until i get them. I'll attempt to do that.

<Edit>

This is why we can't have nice things... The SDK forcibly has to be installed 3GB into the same disk as Windows, and 1GB elsewhere, however, only having 2 80GB HD's and the one with Windows being split, i don't have enough space to fit it... Gonna have to see about that on my other computer.
Post last edited by red3dred: 29 May 2015 - 04:56
redsignature.gif
0
Aidiakapi #8
  31 May 2015 - 23:26
User posted content

AidiakapiDeveloper Site

Nevereal Someone
Group: User
Posts: 853
Joined: 21 Aug 2012
The error is a syntax error. You are probably opening a brace somewhere and not closing it.

You need the Windows SDK for deployment to Windows store, steam SDK for deployment to steam. I dunno about the VS SDK though. Never heard of anything like that.
Finally a new signature.
0
red3dred #9
  02 Jun 2015 - 03:23
User posted content

red3dredDeveloper Site

Nevereal Member
Group: User
Posts: 369
Joined: 13 Sep 2012
Aidiakapi wrote:
The error is a syntax error. You are probably opening a brace somewhere and not closing it.

You need the Windows SDK for deployment to Windows store, steam SDK for deployment to steam. I dunno about the VS SDK though. Never heard of anything like that.

I wish it was as simple as a missing bracket or brace somewhere. That line is literally the only command code there is in the whole object.

I'll pile a few of the errors into a set of example images.

KUDicCI.png
1

oc5nMDg.png
2

oou60S8.png
3

Images don't seem to be working? Well the links are there.
There isn't much to the events, its just those lines with variables and some other stuff that gives errors. The one with image_index is the one that stops the game from compiling, the others just give fatal errors.
Post last edited by red3dred: 02 Jun 2015 - 03:24
redsignature.gif
0
Aidiakapi #10
  02 Jun 2015 - 12:23
User posted content

AidiakapiDeveloper Site

Nevereal Someone
Group: User
Posts: 853
Joined: 21 Aug 2012
It's really hard, if not impossible to diagnose what the issue is without having all the pieces.
As far as I can see there's nothing wrong, so the issue is likely in one of the two scripts in the step event.

Combining D&P with scripting kind of gives you the worst of both worlds. Especially for those 1 liner scripts. But like the error states, there's something wrong with the step event. A syntax error, they are generally easy to fix.

I'd try either converting the entire step event into code, or converting it into D&D
Finally a new signature.
0
0 members and 1 guest are browsing this topic